Skip to main content

Sharing plan links with others

Share plans securely with anyone using a simple link.

Securely send a static image of plans to customers, contractors, or an on-site team using a shareable link. Optional but a great addition is to add a watermark before sharing the drawings.

  1. From the either the plans tab or the editor, click share plans

  2. Select the plan/s to share

  3. Choose from:

    • (Default) include all stages

      OR

    • Switch to only include selected stages

      Choose stages only for the plans selected (all annotations will be included

  4. Select to:

  5. Click create share link

  6. Click copy

    To paste into emails/documents

  7. Click close

What is seen from a link

Recipients of a shared link can only view the plans and legends that are included in the share.

What cannot be viewed:

  • Any project information

  • Pricing or stages

  • Unable to enter or edit a project

The link recipients can:

a

Download plans and/or separate legends

b

Scan QR code to open the plan on another device

c

Discover Groundplan, which links to our web page

d

Switch to different plans/legends (only if there are more available)

Revoke shared plan access

At any time, access to the shared plan/s static link can be revoked.

  1. Inside the project, click the project tab

  2. Click sharing

  3. Click link actions

  4. Click revoke


Frequently asked questions

What is included when ticking the plan legend pages?

The legend page displays plan measurements and quantities on a separate A4 page to the plan. This is the same A4 legend page (or pages) that is always included when exporting plans.

With the shared link, you are able to opt not to have this included.

What is a QR code and how does it work?

A QR code is a barcode that appears in a square pattern and stores encoded data.

When selected, a QR code can be displayed on the plan or legend. This is especially useful for printed plans, allowing users to scan the QR code with a phone or iPad/tablet device to open and check the link.

QR code will appear on both the plans and the legend if selected.

If printed out, a person can use the camera on their phone to view the plans/legend.

  1. Click camera app on a phone

  2. Hover over the QR code till the yellow guidelines appear

  3. Tap the web link at the bottom of the camera app

    Groundplan will open to the link

  4. (Optional) Click view more plans

Can I choose the location of the QR code?

No, unfortunately not.

If I make edits to the project, will the on-site team see these?

No.

This shared link is a static snapshot of the plan at the time the link is created. Any changes made to the plan after that point will not appear in the existing shared link. To share the latest version of the plan, create a new shared link.

If you want to ensure that only the most current version is available, it’s good practice to revoke any previous shared links from the project tab.

  1. Inside the project, click the project tab

  2. Click sharing

  3. Click link actions

  4. Click revoke

Can the onsite team add comments to the shared plan?

Unfortunately no.

Comments are not currently available.


Any questions or issues, please contact our Support Team at Help > Send us a message.

Did this answer your question?